MWBF: FOLK & Fiction

by thefashiondisciple

Hey guys, I realise it’s been awhile and I apologize for that!

Sorry to disappoint if you were hoping for a fashion post, but I’ve been crazy busy with school lately and blogging has been…less than convenient, I would say. But here’s a quick post to just enlighten you, my lovely reader, with what I’ve been up to the past few weeks!

For those of you who don’t know, I like to write. Not like “blog post” kind of writing, but the “sit down with a hot cup of tea and let my mind wander off into another realm and then put it into words” kind of writing. So in the little pockets of time that I find in between my (overdue) IAs and econs article hunting, I’ve been writing; some songs, some stories, mostly gibberish.

Haha but ever so rarely, when I find that I’m actually content with what I’ve written, I put it up. The short story below, I actually wrote about two years ago. But I’ve only just dug it back up and re-written it a few days ago. Do check it out as well as my other stuff and let me know what you think :)

The Thing About Silence

Link to my Wattpad account: http://www.wattpad.com/user/aprillexilee

Also, I’ve been really into making playlists on 8tracks recently. Most of the playlists I create are for myself or my friends, but I have no idea how one of them ended up getting discovered (I feel it’s the biggest compliment ever when people like your taste in music, it’s like saying they like your soul). YAYERZ. Check this out if you’re interested too :)

Screen Shot 2014-08-15 at 9.22.27 PM

Link to my 8tracks: http://8tracks.com/aprillexilee

I’ve also been getting more into making music lately. Been jamming with different people and getting into different genres of music (far from what I’d usually listen to). And by a random fluke, I ended up singing for this SMU event at the YMCA rooftop, though it was unrehearsed and raw, I enjoyed it nonetheless.

And the icing on the cake, I took part in my school’s talent competition last week. To be honest, the entire initiation and preparation process was messy and we were still changing things (like band members, song arrangements and equipment needed etc) up to the night before the performance.

But all went well in the end and I’ve to say that the band I ended up going on stage with (FOLK) was beyond amazing on and off stage, and I’m so glad I got to work with them. I can’t say that we had it all pulled together or that we were extremely rehearsed, but I can say that it was truly a humble effort.

Here’s a recording of our performance live from Acstraodinaire, hope you guys enjoy it :)

Link to my soundcloud: https://soundcloud.com/aprillexilee

Anyway, that’s all I have for now. I really hope to be doing more fashion posts soon! Still have that Kylie Jenner LookBook I promised you guys. Thanks for reading :)