Celebrity LookBook: Kylie Jenner

by thefashiondisciple

The thing I adore about Kylie Jenner and her style is that she can go from casual grunge to classic dressy in a second when she needs to. I love that she somehow always manages to add an element of playful youth into each of her looks, regardless of how sophisticated her entire outfit may be.

Screen Shot 2014-05-21 at 10.17.07 am

Kylie mixes around with laid back and girly, and sexy and fun looks all the time. She sticks to fairly simple fabrics and is stylishly but modestly accessorized (most of the time; excluding Coachella). Also keep in mind that she doesn’t wear a whole lot of colour, so stick to neutrals (black, white, grey etc.) with the occasional pop of red or maybe tartan. As for outerwear, she’s usually seen in the classic leather or denim jacket, or has a knitted cardigan or flannel tied around her waist.

The Wardrobe Staples:

1 Midi & Mini Skirts

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 11.08.45 pm

Kylie accentuates her curvy figure usually by wearing form fitting skirts. Play around with different lengths and symmetry to get different looks. Kylie’s skirts often have a unique twist to them, while still remaining simple enough not to overwhelm her body.

2 Crop Tops Screen Shot 2014-05-21 at 5.18.35 pm Kylie’s often spotted in crop tops, be it in one of her casual or more dressy looks. Create different looks by choosing different materials and cuts. Play around with various necklines and sleeves as well to suit your own style and body.

3 Shades

Screen Shot 2014-09-11 at 11.39.09 pm

 Kylie is rarely seen out and about without shades on, be it a pair of stylish aviators or adorable round sunglasses. These elements also help balance out the ‘casual’ and ‘sophisticated’ in her outfits.

Recreating The Look:

In this post, I will be recreating 5 of Kylie’s street style looks, some casual and some a little more dressed up. Note that I’m not trying to replicate her entire outfit piece for piece, but rather, show you the outfits I have come up with inspired by her style.

1 I don’t even care, but I still look cool.

This was perhaps the easiest look to recreate; laid-back, comfortable and perfect for running errands around town. As long as you have a pair of baggy jeans and a flannel shirt lying around in your closet, you can get an almost identical look.

IMG_3073IMG_3074IMG_3082

IMG_3089IMG_3086IMG_3095IMG_3097
For me, the look was a little under-accessorised so I added this silver medallion-ed necklace over the baggy top. And yes, I made the drink just for the photos.

shirt – factorie, jeans – jay jays, flannel – f21, necklace – f21

2 In the 90s.

I really like the pop of colour on the skirt in this outfit. The plaid pattern also gives the look a very vintage school girl kind of feel, while still remaining casual and grunge–both of which Kylie is an expert on.

photo 3

IMG_2740 IMG_2752 IMG_2765IMG_2776IMG_2784IMG_2754

I added this optional denim jacket because it kinda seemed like what Kylie would wear too.

shirt – cotton on, skirt – h&m, jacket – pull&bear, boots – h&m

3 I don’t actually have a choker.

Something about this outfit was grunge and boho chic at the same time. You can create a similar look with any flowy kimono and something more body hugging on the inside.

IMG_2921photo 3-2photo 4-2photo 2-3photo 1-2 IMG_2949

I swapped out Kylie’s boots for my good ol’ creepers. Because her legs are way longer than mine, calf-length boots would cut my legs off too much and appear unflattering. Also I think Kylie was wearing a romper, but the same effect can be created with a dress, or even a crop top and shorts.

P.S. sorry about the makeshift choker…

dress – topshop, kimono – inlovewithfashion.com

4 That’s not really my car.

The midi pencil skirt is a great piece to make any outfit appear classier and and more formal. This is one of Kylie’s more sophisticated looks with a midi skirt, yet she knows how to keep it sexy and simple.

photo 4-3 photo 1-3 photo 2-4IMG_2818IMG_2819IMG_2844 photo 3-5photo 1-4photo 4-4

I love the mesh panel on this midi skirt that gives the whole look a playful touch.

skirt – zara, shirt – topshop, heels – zara

5 The sunglasses confuse me.

This look was straight off the photoshoot for Kendal and Kylie’s Pacsun line. I just adore how this outfit looks dressy and laid-back at the same time.

IMG_2996 IMG_3018 IMG_3020 IMG_3045photo 2-6photo 1-5 IMG_3067

And for this final look, I just fished out this old chiffon maxi from the back of my closet, and threw on a sheer embroidered mesh top to achieve a similar look.

skirt – h&m, top – f21, boots – urbanog.com

So that’s all the looks I have for this post, I hope you guys liked it!

I know that some of the looks don’t resemble Kylie’s original outfit too closely, but I wanted to make use of things I already have in my closet, as well as put my own style into it.

Thanks so much for reading :)